Puncture the Sky

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/puncture/

The morning air was heavy. It pushed against me as I walked down the grassy path. Storms hovered on the edge of the Darby Plains. A dazzling lightning bolt pierced the blue-gray sky. The fragrance of a million different plants growing strong  filled the breeze. Crystal dewdrops clung to life on the leaves of the young corn. Soon, they would be sucked back into the very air that had given them life.

Birds and their chattering families filled the trees with life. Their collective cacophony of songs called to me.

The Sun punctured the clouds and rays of light shone down. I felt like I was walking in a painting.

I use the sounds and sights of early morning to clear my mind. I meditate on nature. I allow myself to have a moment without worry.

The other day, I had an epiphany. A revelation. 

I have been known to have a bit of anxiety. I worry, who doesn’t, right ? I wake up in the middle of the night, my brain screaming at me, ” you will probably fail… you know you will run out of money.. you won’t be able to provide for your family…you will be alone… what if you get sick… and on and on. I lay there awake, now I am adding lack of sleep to the endless list of things to worry about.  Now, I am going to have a headache, too.

I know I am not alone with these kinds of self-defeating thoughts. 

We all question ourselves at times. It is a necessary component of self discovery. But, when the self-doubt becomes paralyzing or over-exaggerated and interferes with happiness, it has to be controlled.

That’s when it hit me.

I did everything I could do yesterday and I will do whatever it takes tomorrow, to fulfill my purpose and take care of my family. I had to have faith. I had to puncture the worry with faith. Tonight, I need sleep. I must stay the course.

I have read tons of self-help books and articles. And I know this much – One characteristic of successful and happy people is they PERSEVERE.

In the face of adversity and doubt, successful people don’t lose sight of themselves. They never lose sight of their goals.  

Every person’s path is different. My path is not the same as yours. I have to walk out the door and face the morning on my path. You have your door and your path.

Our paths will cross, from time to time. When they do, let’s encourage and help each other. Let’s try to remember we are all trying to find our way.

Have faith, Stay on your path.

 

 

5 thoughts on “Puncture the Sky

    1. Thanks for the comment. One thing I have learned from reading people like Tony Robbins & Tim Ferris is find someone who has accomplished what you are trying to and follow their example. And successful people never give up – or they wouldn’t be successful!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

