JOY

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/photo-challenges/delta/

This moment in time can only be experienced in childhood. Pure innocent joy is a rite of passage.

It won’t last.

As adullts, we try to find that sensation again. We look for it in the bottom of a bottle or the inside of a pill. We look for it in shopping, relationships,hobbies and careers. But, that fleeting moment called childhood, is the only time in our lives that we can experience innocent joy.

I watch my children and I know they are on the cusp of discovering the truth about life. That life is not always fair and the early bird does not always get the worm. Sometimes, it’s the cheater that gets the worm and the early bird has to look somewhere else. I know these days are coming. But, for now, joy is everywhere.

I let their joy wash over me. 

I close my eyes and remember these moments are fleeting. Life is change.

The river of your childhood will flow into the wide open ocean of the rest of your life.

morning sun and tire swing

 

Today is a new day. Find your tire swing.

glorious sunrise

Experience JOY

8 thoughts on “JOY

  1. Oh – this is such a lovely post. I love your beautiful photos. I too realize childhood is a fleeting, innocent time and when adulthood and the daily grind of life take away our joy – things are never the same. But through our children and grandchildren we can sometimes step back in time and feel like a child for a short time. There is a tire swing at the neighbor’s house, perhaps I should hang one from my big oak tree. Ahhhh, that sounds like fun.

    Like

Leave a Reply

